Archive for June 20th, 2008

20
Jun
08

Blank Page No. 12

Amy in Oregon and John in London are your hosts. They’re both debuting as moderators but I’m sure they’ll be into the swing of things from the off. If you’d like to host a Blank Page, let me know. All yours Amy and John.

Hello everyone – now that Zak has shown me the way here, I will quickly introduce myself. My name is John (most people call me JJ) and I live in London. Along with Amy I will be moderating comments on this page.

I have a quick question for anyone who might be reading this weekend’s Blank Page: Is the weekend the best part of the week? And should we extend weekends in summertime to allow families spend more time together? Let me know what you think – aspirational or impractical?

Hi all. I think this is a great thing to talk about. I have very fair skin so this is something that could help me some day: Curing skin cancer with your own immune cells

20
Jun
08

My expectations v those of my parents

Hi, this is Hannah in the UK. I’d be interested to hear what you think of this.
Continue reading ‘My expectations v those of my parents’

20
Jun
08

On air: Is being a teenage mum a bad thing?

This started on the blog after yesterday’s show with news of Britney Spears’ teenager sister having her first child.
Continue reading ‘On air: Is being a teenage mum a bad thing?’

20
Jun
08

On air: Is a Western lifestyle something for us all to aspire to?

This came out of a discussion about climate change.
Continue reading ‘On air: Is a Western lifestyle something for us all to aspire to?’

20
Jun
08

Should we let our leaders lead?

Here’s a question for you. Do you want more involvement in the decisions your leaders take? I ask because we’re broadcasting from the Civicus World Assembly today and it’s fair to say all of those attending believe it’s a good idea.
Continue reading ‘Should we let our leaders lead?’

20
Jun
08

Women-only swimming pools: segregation or integration?

In France, a public swimming pool has come under fire for introducing women-only pool sessions. And a muslim women’s basketball tournament has been cancelled because men were barred from attending the event. Is France right to uphold its secular values? Or is it missing the chance for Muslims to integrate through sport?
Continue reading ‘Women-only swimming pools: segregation or integration?’

20
Jun
08

Are you miserable?

Hi it’s Farhana here, I work on Newshour.

The reason I ask is because here in the UK a government minister has started this debate. He wants to know, when the British are relatively wealthy, safe, healthy and long-lived, why are we so miserable?

In our Newshour programme tonight we’d like you to help us look at this question. Do you live in less happy times than your parents and does money make you happy?

One psychologist thinks today is the happiest day of the year. Let us know what you think.