Archive for November 2nd, 2009

02
Nov
09

On air: Is this the election where everyone lost?

hamidIn the last few minutes, Hamid Karzai has been declared the president of Afghanistan. The second round is also off which is no surprise after Abdullah Abdullah pulled out over the weekend. So there we go – over two months since the first poll, we have a winner. But is that really a word you’d use to describe any of the interested parties? Continue reading ‘On air: Is this the election where everyone lost?’

02
Nov
09

Paul Vassallo

paul vassallo
I can recall listening to BBC WSR late at night in Australia from a young age and never thought I would ever have the great opportunity to work in Bush House and on a programme like WHYS.

 A big hello to the WHYS community! I have just joined the team from BBC Newsgathering.

 It is a big step for me as I have never worked on programme production before.

Continue reading ‘Paul Vassallo’