11
Dec
09

Sheetal Parmar

Hi I’m Sheetal and I have an apology to make. I really should have introduced myself 5 months ago when I first started working at WHYS, but I never really got round to it. So today, after running out of reasons as to why I haven’t written my meet the team, I’ve finally succumbed to the pressure.

I came to WHYS after working at BBC Asian Network and BBC Newsgathering. I’ve worked in various areas liks BBC News and at Asian Network produced a phone in and a Bollywood programme. Bollywood really isn’t my thing, but I had a great time creating a brand new programme and changing the way things are usually done with the world’s biggest film industry. I was lucky enough to travel around the world, meeting, interviewing and chasing India’s beautiful people. And along the way I got to know some of Bollywood’s most talented actors and film makers – Abhishek Bachchan and Aishwarya Rai (who were recently invited to the state dinner at the White House…they didn’t gate crash) and Shah Rukh Khan who was recently detained at a US aiport. Who said entertainment was glamorous!

On most of my trips (related to Bollywood) it was 20 hour days and one meal per day. So working amongst the beautiful people was tough, particularly when you meet people you’ve grown up watching in the cinema. Imagine having a really bad hair day when you have to meet Robert Redford…well that’s pretty much what it was like for me in Mumbai and Bangkok!

Luckily WHYS isn’t glamorous, but it’s very exciting and since being here I’ve had the pleasure of doing two trips – Milan and Berlin and I was lucky enough to meet some of you in Berlin. I’ll also be looking after One Young World in February and hopefully Miami in March at the WeMedia conference. Hopefully I’ll meet some of you out there.

I should mention my news sources also, this went up a couple of months ago. But I like a variety of hard news and analysis and of course the obligatory showbiz and entertainment stuff that allows me to completely switch off from the intensity of WHYS! Oh and if you’re wondering why I’ve got a shiny thing on my forehead in the picture, it was taken at Krupa’s wedding, so I was all dressed up!


24 Responses to “Sheetal Parmar”


  1. 1 Joseph A. Migliore
    December 11, 2009 at 18:27

    Sheetal,

    How rude and distasteful, it took you for ever to finally introduce yourself to the WHYS global audience. What’s up with that?

    Hope to hear more from you during the upcoming broadcasts, its great finally seeing a real person and her background behind the name.

    Indeed a pleasure with meeting you today, wishing you all the best and continued success.

    • 2 sheetalparmar
      December 11, 2009 at 18:42

      Joseph, what can I say. I’m a disgrace.

      • 3 Vijay Pillai
        December 14, 2009 at 22:19

        I cannot believe people can be so cruel in their comments..You are not a discrace at all but a beauty with a beaming smile luckily you are not from afganistan.I thought only dentists have such a smile! Hope you would be getting some promotional deal from toooth paste manufactures or the other?

  2. 4 patti in cape coral
    December 11, 2009 at 18:30

    Hi Sheetal! You look as pretty as you sounded on the phone on Wednesday. Welcome and I hope you are enjoying yourself.

  3. 6 Joseph A. Migliore
    December 11, 2009 at 18:48

    Sheetal,

    It’s great seeing you on the team. Hope to hear from you in the future… I’ve spent over four months in Milan, last year completing my internship with the U.S. Department of State.

    I know you must of enjoyed Milan, it is the global fashion paradise.

    Stay in touch, I look forward to meeting you upon your next trip to North America?

    Ciao, all the best.

  4. December 11, 2009 at 18:58

    What kept you! Tea and toast is cold by now,however,pull up a chair and I’ll put kettle on…..again!

  5. 8 BRINDA
    December 11, 2009 at 19:05

    Hi Sheetal,

    Welcome and nice to meet you.

    Brinda

  6. 9 vijay pillai
    December 12, 2009 at 00:35

    who cares about bolywood actors and actress . i wonder why some of my controbutions not published with a indian on this team? . But you charm people your smile i guess.good luck.

  7. 10 T
    December 12, 2009 at 06:26

    Nice to meet you online. Hoep you enjoy WHYS as much as the rest of us :).

  8. December 12, 2009 at 13:04

    Hi Sheetal,

    Just call me Cooti

    Nice to meet you and wish all the best

  9. December 12, 2009 at 15:05

    Pleasure to meet you. WHYS is a great place. Don’t worry about not introducing yourself. I will blame it on grandpa/Mr. Deal. Know that is? Mark Sandell of course. He actually failed on parenting by not introducing one of the New Kids On The Block.

    I’ve already received email from you though it turned out that I too failed you by not responding in time.

    GOOD LUCK MAM

  10. 13 Abdi
    December 13, 2009 at 10:54

    Better late than never well-come to WHYS,-this is truly global conversation with journalist from all over the world

  11. 14 Al Zindiq
    December 13, 2009 at 11:49

    A female Indian is the good indian.

  12. 15 John costigane
    December 13, 2009 at 16:32

    Hi Sheetal,

    I look forward to your Indian perspective in all things. In particular, coverage of Zero Waste issues would be very helpful. Anaerobic Digestion is an emerging technology here where large-scale facilities predominate. In India there are small scale types for waste relevant to local circumstances which have been on the internet. Any further details would be worth covering to inform the public of the technology’s usefulness and practicalities.

  13. 16 Dennis Junior
    December 14, 2009 at 05:10

    Welcome to the WHYS family, Sheetal!

    =Dennis Junior=

  14. 17 sumedh sharma
    December 14, 2009 at 08:01

    hey sheetal,

    i found a lot of traces of bollywood in that little excerpt…..i didnt anticipate that when i expanded the link……any way good luck.

  15. 18 Jonnan
    December 14, 2009 at 14:51

    I’m so shallow – my first reaction is “Ohhh . . . her pretty”

    And this is why I’m modded on all the better class of websites.

    Take care and enjoy – Jonnan

  16. 19 pakistani ahmad
    December 14, 2009 at 16:55

    hi sheetal when r u comoing to pakistan?

  17. 20 T(no relation to T in N.Z.)
    December 14, 2009 at 23:37

    Nice to see you working here at WHYS. Do you need a very flexible assistant :)?

  18. 21 scmehta
    December 16, 2009 at 14:06

    We can appreciate your succumbing to the pressure; but we didn’t miss you anyway. However, your blow-up snap will ensure that you’re taken notice of.

  19. 22 ARTHUR NJUGUNA
    December 22, 2009 at 18:33

    You are sure right with that lovely smile. Chrismas to you and happy new year. You are such a good addition to the team. Don’t switch off that smile sister.

  20. March 11, 2010 at 08:24

    Sheetal, you have a really nice smile, keep it up.

  21. March 25, 2010 at 14:17

    Sheetal, i welcome you to WHYS although it has taken ages to know you. sincerely i like hearing from you and Ros, believ me i have had a one on one correspondence with Ros on some issues on WHYS, he is such a nice man and cant afford to miss him come 8.45pm.

    Sheetal, follow the footsteps of Ros and the Audience will like you…… in Kiswahili it says “Mshike mkono kabisa akufundishe kazi…… he is a guru in the broadcasting family i tell you”

    surely you will get to the top…. you are not a disgrace….. but a beatiful beaming young lady.

    John Kyalo
    Mariakani, Mombasa
    Kenya.


Leave a comment