22
Feb
10

Blogworld

Writing a post on the World Have Your Say blog feels very much like coming home. It feels good! But hey enough emotions I’m here to talk business (seriously it feels great to be back on the blog.. I almost started moderating comments!)

I’m currently working on Blogworld– part of the BBC’s Superpower season in which WHYS is heavily involved. It basically looks at how the internet – the superpower that is – has changed our lives. An aspect of this of course is blogging. And that is where Blogworld comes in. We’re bringing together bloggers from around the world to tell us what they blog about, why they blog and how they see the future of blogging. We’re doing through a series of video links that they record and send us. We put them up on our blog and we’ll also be taking 30 second edits off all of them to feature in a series of TV segments that will start airing on BBC World , BBC Arabic, BBC Persian (Farsi) starting the 8th of March for five days. Blogworld will also feature as radio segments that will start airing same time as the TV ones.

It’s a really exciting project and I’m so glad to be part of it. Check out the blog and watch and listen to what our bloggers have to say. If you’re a blogger yourself leave us a comment or email us on super.power@bbc.co.uk with your details and we’ll get in touch. If you have a favourite blog flag it up for us.


9 Responses to “Blogworld”


  1. 1 James Savstrom
    February 23, 2010 at 19:50

    Mexico is one of my favorite counties. I am now 61 years old and my wife and I have traveled and lived in Mexico for decades. We left a wonderful home in Bucerias, Nayarit in 2005 because in our town the drug lords have totally ruined the life and safety on anyone there. When the Federales arrive in town to inspect, the local police close the shutters on their drug trade, until the federal police leave. Legalize drugs now!
    Jim

  2. February 23, 2010 at 20:30

    It is rather interesting. It is necessary to think well. About what to write, for what and in the name of what to write? That we want to make and what image to draw attractive prospect of the future

  3. February 23, 2010 at 22:50

    I am following the information about BBC’s Superpower everyday on the BBC Wrold News. It attracts me and looking forward to seeing the wonderful video about the superpower world.
    I love blogging and my favorate is BBC World Have Your Say. I also take part in discussions on BBC Africa Have Your Say. I love blogging because it hands over the power to me to have my say on those issues of personal and global concern. Blogging highly contributes to what people call freedom of speech. I wish through this we shall find common grounds of resolving many other global issues.

  4. 4 patti in cape coral
    February 24, 2010 at 14:14

    Hi Shaimaa! I only blog on WHYS, haven’t branched out yet. I really enjoy it. At first I was very sensitive about critisism, but I developed a thicker skin and learned my way around. It’s kind of like family in a way, sometimes you get mad or say things you wish you didn’t, but there’s always a new day when you might agree with someone. I enjoy blogging a lot, much more than other social interactions on the net such as facebook. Blogging seems more intimate to me and you really get to know people a lot better through their views and opinions. You don’t get that kind of picture from facebook or twitter, which people tend to use as one-liner updates on what they are doing at the time.

  5. 5 Jaime Saldarriaga
    February 24, 2010 at 14:19

    To me blogging is important because it offers a tool to express free thinking and exchange ideas.

  6. February 24, 2010 at 14:52

    I love blog world, infact i spend aquarter of my day blogging. I especially liked the two topics,one about South African president Zuma and the would be under pant Nigerian bomber-Muttallab. i think blog world is aplatfoam for expressing ones anger, opinion and greviancies without distracting public peace.

  7. 7 Peter Gizzi UK
    February 24, 2010 at 17:56

    I enjoy WHYS and Europe Today. Am noted for being a bit outspoken at times but make no apology for that.

    Looked at Blogworld and Superpower this afternoon. Did the test on Superpower. The last 2 parts got me very irritated so I skipped them. Perhaps I’m just too old?

  8. 8 Subhash C Mehta
    February 25, 2010 at 07:10

    The mode of Blogging must have to do more with the society-issues than just bragging or self-promotion or entertainment.
    See if you find time to read my blog (on two very important topics) on the Google, titled: thealmightyphilosopher@blogspot.com
    I think and hope that you’ll not be disappointed.

  9. March 20, 2010 at 23:34

    Information technology is insane! The average person can have their say in this world now! Amazing!


Leave a Reply

