01
Feb
10

One Young World – Pete Mcleod

If you can find my hometown on a global map you must be really good at Trivial Pursuit. Growing up in the remote Northern Ontario community of Red Lake, Ontario, Canada provided me with a unique perspective of some of the social issues challenging us today.

I’ve been fortunate to be raised in a country with a high standard of living and high level of human rights and freedoms. Despite having these luxuries, I feel it is important to keep thinking globally and pay attention to the ‘big picture’ that surrounds all of us. I’m honoured to be part of One Young World and look forward to sharing insights during the summit. One Young World has the potential to activate a group with limitless potential: today’s youth.

Growing up in the north, I enjoy the Canadian wilderness and it’s also where I discovered my passion for aviation. I’ve had my pilots licence since I was 16 years old and spent summers flying to remote Canadian lakes while working in the tourism industry.

While I was at the University of Western Ontario completing my economics degree, I was heavily involved in aerobatic flying competitions and have performed at air shows throughout North America and Europe. In 2009, I entered the Red Bull Air Race World Championship as the youngest pilot and only Canadian to ever compete in the Championship. This experience has allowed me to travel the world and meet interesting people from all walks of life, including many motivated and intelligent young people that hope to achieve big things.


4 Responses to “One Young World – Pete Mcleod”


  1. 1 Jagjit Singh Mukandpuri
    February 1, 2010 at 16:42

    Congratulations for so many achievments in very young age. I admire your thought of one young world, i am not young but not old want Global Brotherhood to have Global Peace and Harmony. I am ready to cooperate. Thanks.

  2. 2 takoller
    February 1, 2010 at 18:41

    I hope you can keep this focused on realistic and effective short term goals. The Copenhagen event turned into a chance for the participants to spout grand dreams and vilify past events. It was a total waste of time. Btw, I have enjoyed the Nestor Falls area few times. It get a bit long to go further if you drive, as I’m sure you know. The icon pic is from Caliper Lake.

  3. 3 loudobservant
    February 2, 2010 at 01:51

    My friend lives in Mississauga,Ontario and I will forward this to him and see how he feels.

  4. February 2, 2010 at 06:39

    Hi Peter,

    I hope that you will be able to obtain the social view that you are looking for and that you implement it in a very useful manner in your community and then in the larger context of the country.

    Warm wishes,

    God Bless you,

    Philip


Leave a Reply

