01
Feb
10

One Young World – Guilherme Martins

My name is Guilherme Martins, I’m from Sao Paulo, Brazil, I’m 26 years old and I have just finished medical school here. At this moment I’m working as a resident in a hospital which is part of the Brazilian public health system, where we help anyone that needs medical care. In my free time I love to read books, I love cinema, I love travelling and I love to spend time with my family and friends. Besides those things, as a typical brazilian guy, I love seeing and playing football.

Here in brazil I’ve been working in Brazilian public health system since 2004 as a volunteer and we try to provide medical care to anyone who needs it. Besides that we do some social work with all kinds of communities, trying to teach and prevent all kind of diseases. The best way to promote health is preventing illness so we work directly with these communities giving them classes, workshops and meetings where we can show them the best way to prevent the most common problems in their area.

Before doing that we study each community and the most common problems in their specific areas. As well as working as a doctor I have started doing medical research because I think it’s very important and the best way to discover new treatments about all the diseases so we can provide better care to everyone.

I really like helping people and I’m really excited with the One Young World idea and I’m looking forward for this event. I really hope to learn a lot with everyone present in the event and I hope I can help and share all my life experiences.


5 Responses to “One Young World – Guilherme Martins”


  1. 1 Idris Dangalan
    February 1, 2010 at 20:17

    Brazilian health system is good in both cities and rural areas or just using your talent as young to help the system and many poor citizen. Brother/Sister more grease to your elbow.

  2. 2 Guillermo
    February 1, 2010 at 22:38

    Guilherme congratulations for the begining of your career. I hope you will not loose the impuls of helping other people. Many physicians after a time they go to the private practice having in mind to earn good money. But, maybe you can be the exception.

  3. 3 Jaime Saldarriaga
    February 2, 2010 at 01:20

    Congratulations Guilherme!

  4. February 2, 2010 at 06:29

    Hi Guilherme,

    God bless your endeavor and lead you along your way.

    Philip.

  5. 5 Chintan in Houston
    February 2, 2010 at 16:01

    Guilherme,

    Its great to see doctors from developing countries that are dedicated to improve the life of everyone around them. There is no better kind of social service than that.

    I am reading lot of profiles on WHYS but I can’t seem to understand what is your agenda and others that are listed. Looks like all of you are young and educated in your respective countries. What do you plan to achieve at this conference?


Leave a Reply

