15
Jan
10

Ayshah’s leaving speech

You all think I’ve been here on work experience but I’ve actually been working undercover with DCI Bosworth on a police investigation into World Have Your Say. .

On the orders of Rupert Murdoch, the Metropolitan Police have decided to look into the programme which claims to be a global discussion and talk to ordinary people, it all just sounds too good to be true.

I’ve been watch you all individually and here are my findings:

Mark: You are the most no nonsense, straight talking person I’ve ever met and at first that scared me but now I respect it.

Alicia: I know that £12.99 winter coats from Aldi excite you and interestingly you hate the smell of processed meats and cheese from Subway. That’s the reason why I stayed away from there for the rest of my time here not to upset you.

Krupa: For someone that lives in my neck of the woods and who went to Brentside you are the nicest person I’ve ever met.

Sheetal: Calm, unshakeable and always willing to listen when I ask the stupidest questions.

Karnie: Is the worst person to sit next to when starting a diet, but knows more about South Africa than Nelson Mandela.

Helen: Is the best person to sit next to when starting a diet, thanks for the detox tips as well as the pumpkin seeds and raisins- the healthiest day I’ve ever had.

Ros: Although I’ve never met you everyone sings your praises and when I used to listen to the show before I came here I had a vision of you being a lot older, balder and fatter.

Nuala: Takes ages to record a billboard when Alicia’s around but when Mark’s editing does it in one take.

Heba: I only met you once, so count yourself lucky.

What I’ve learnt

oI am hopeless at twitter
oWho Ian Dury is (Sex, drugs and rock & roll guy)
oI can carry 5 cups of tea up three flights of stairs
oI like the TVC shift mainly because its 10 minutes away from my house
oMostly ordinary people have the greatest stories to tell and everyone has a unique perspective.

So finally,

Thank you everyone, I’ve never met such a fun team of people, you’re all so lucky to get paid to do this!
I’m glad I was able to be a part of your team. THANK YOU!


6 Responses to “Ayshah’s leaving speech”


  1. January 15, 2010 at 23:28

    There seems to be no explanation of what undercover work you have been investigateing? If you are declareing who you are and why, why have you not given your story? I would like to speak to Rupert Murdoch if that was possible. I dont have a contact number. I would like an issue that I myself would like to have investigated. I am an ordinary person and people like Rupert Murdoch do not respond. It is a case that should be investigated and the police are refuseing to lisen.

  2. 2 vintner
    January 16, 2010 at 02:43

    Well Ayshah, even though you’ve not met Ros (neither have I and yet I continue to prosper), you’ve met and learned from the formidable Mark and the others at WHYS, and had a good time too I’ll bet. Even though you’ve never met me, I have in way met you and I am happier for the meeting. Good bye and good fortune.
    v.

  3. 3 peter
    January 16, 2010 at 12:12

    I don’t understand what this is all about. Does this mean that contributors to your column were watched?

  4. 4 @guykaks
    January 18, 2010 at 14:58

    Good judgement Ayshah!

  5. 5 nora
    January 18, 2010 at 15:51

    Ayshah, great prose, thank you. A bit of your humor has sailed over the heads of the alarmed and confused. This gave me pause for thought…If Rupert and the cops carry on the joke with disavowals and a romp in English libel court, you could be an instant mega-star in the world of upcoming journalists. Take this day to consider the Hollywood maxim No Publicity Is Bad Publicity–get your full professional name and full sense of humor out there. You rock. The day is young, and yours is the full monty.

  6. 6 Dennis
    January 19, 2010 at 01:45

    Ayshah~

    Hope you had an interesting time on WHYS….And, best wishes on your next assignment on BBC….

    -Dennis-


Leave a Reply

