27
Oct
09

Khadija’s story on being a student in a war zone

khadijaI am Khadija Ali from Rawalpindi, Pakistan. I am 20 years old, a law student, living in a conflicted country since 2001. Although we have to some extent gotten accustomed to the suicide bombing in our country, the recent attack in Islamic International University has depressed the youth of this country on a completely different level. For us, education is a hope for a better future and it seems that very source of hope has been attacked by these terrorists. I am depressed to see the deteriorating conditions around me but the attack in Islamic International University makes me wonder: do I have to watch my back every time I go to my college? Is it a sin in these terrorists’ eyes to acquire education? I am faced with such mind-boggling questions.

In this climate of despair, I felt rejuvenated when I switched on my television and saw students protesting against the government for the closure of universities and colleges. Their agenda simple: we will not bow in front of these terrorists and we do not want them to think that their act of desperation can demoralise the youth of this country. It is in these rare moments when I feel proud of my nations tenacity.

I’ll be on WHYS tonight speaking to other students and would love to hear your questions and comments


18 Responses to “Khadija’s story on being a student in a war zone”


  1. 1 Tom D Ford
    October 27, 2009 at 23:40

    Thanks for talking on WHYS, I hope that the WHYS guys will have you back on again for a longer time as you three were very interesting.

  2. 2 vijay pillai
    October 28, 2009 at 01:24

    She is articulate ,pretty and full of hope and determination.good luck to her future.

  3. 3 ottilie
    October 28, 2009 at 10:21

    Thank you for this program. I was overwhelmed by the courage, determination and dedicatedness of all three students. Amazing to hear them in conversation together. Please have them back again soon!

    Khadija, Lubna, and Faredoone, best of luck with your studies. May God/Allah bless you all!

  4. 4 Khadija Ali
    October 28, 2009 at 12:35

    Dear Tom D Ford, vijay pillai and ottilie,
    thankyou for appreciating our efforts in bringing out and talking about the strngth of our respective countries… In these trying tims it is prayers and understanding from people all over the world that we need the most. Right now I switched on the television and watched buildings collapsing and people crying and wailing as a suicide attack strikes at the heart of Peshawer. Everynight, I feel these pangs of depression as I recollect thoughts about the events that have unfolded everyday, and with each of these pangs of depression I feel more determined to do anything in my power to help my country n this crisis. I thank WHYS for giving me the opportunity to meet lubna and faredoone and I a sure all of you must have learned alot from our little conversation just like I did.
    Regards,
    Khadija Ali.

  5. 5 patti in cape coral
    October 28, 2009 at 13:02

    Hi Khadija – Thank you for allowing us to see into your life. I am impressed with how strong you are. I hope the best for you.

  6. 6 Waqar Mushtaq
    October 28, 2009 at 15:50

    Yes, Khadija

    I have to win this war of hearts and minds. We do not have any other option

  7. 7 Waqar Mushtaq
    October 28, 2009 at 15:52

    Yes, Khadija

    We have to win this war of hearts and minds. We do not have any other option

  8. 8 Naadia
    October 28, 2009 at 16:40

    I never knew that my kid sister is so grown up that she is thinking about our country which has given everything in our life I am proud of you darling. I have not seen all three of you but I must say I am proud of u and you and your sentiments means alot to me Pakistan zindabad

  9. 9 Ahmed Jamal from Pakistan
    October 28, 2009 at 18:53

    @ Nadia,
    I see a flare in this youthful generation. I have always been a supporter and a silent worker for a youth revolution in this country, but the political turmoil that our country is in, a revolution would just be a destablizing factor. But when the time is right, the youth will replace the corrupts of this nation and bring forth a better future. People like Khadija are a ray of hope shining on our heads, an asset that will soon be realized by the people of this country, and in my eyes, she has taken a start.
    The concerned youth of Pakistan is by your side to bring shimmer to the star and brighten the moon on the flag of our country for you are the bright future. Well done Khadija !!!

  10. October 29, 2009 at 07:00

    Well done Khadija and keep it up………………….I appreciate your positive attitude towards the current situation and I know with the moral help of our young generation like yours can win the war against terrorists. Pakistan Zindabad…….

  11. 11 scmehta
    October 29, 2009 at 07:22

    Whatever happens in Pakistan does affect India and vice-verse; every suffering on one side of the border is painfully felt on the other.
    The terrorists are wrecking havoc around the world, more so in Asia; Don’t you think it’s time that we forget our petty differences, and shelve even the major ones, in favour of a united and concerted effort to rout the evil forces of terrorism and extremism for the sake of protecting our civilized and peace-loving people in the region?
    Hope, you will put in your mite in whatever way you can; Good Luck.

  12. 12 Uzair S Latif
    October 29, 2009 at 09:30

    Lovely….

  13. 13 Khadija Ali
    October 29, 2009 at 11:44

    @ scmehta
    I totally agree with you, the havoc created by these terrorists in Afghanistan has had a devastating effect on Pakistan and if the situation is not controlled it will (God Forbid) create chaos in the whole of South Asia. I also agree on the point that we need to rid ourselves of this menace of terrorism by putiing aside our differences and working on the common goal. Yesterday, Hilary Clinton’s answers to questions put forward by Pakistani journalists (who asked the questions and confusions that virtually every Pakistani has in his mind) was only the first step in bridging the differences and reservations between nations. Let us hope, we can have more of such peaceful debates and platforms to discuss solutions for the crisis we face.
    However, Pakistan and India have had issues since independance, we can temporarily shelve those issues for the sake of this War Against Terrorism but this will not create the necessary trust between these countries unless these issues are expediently addressed.
    This is my humble opinion regarding your comment.
    Good Luck!
    Regards,
    Khadija Ali.

  14. 14 Jim Newman
    October 29, 2009 at 13:52

    Hello Khadija.
    Pakistan is suffering from terrorism from all sides. USA drone attacks and the Islamic kind.
    As the Islamists seem to see themselves as the resistance against a class of Pakistanis who enrich themselves by hand outs from outside powers and at the expense of the Pakistani people where do you see Pakistan ten years from now?
    Jim

  15. 15 Khadija Ali
    October 29, 2009 at 17:04

    Hello Jim Newman,
    well, ten years from now, there will either be talibanistan or Pakistan. As for the problems you have mentioned, the taliban and the class of Pakistanis you have referred to are both a minority in this country… I am neither of these two extreme classes and the youth and middle class of this country form the majority in Pakistan(80% of the whole population). It is people like me who are resisting against the taliban and are also not ready to give up hope on Pakistan.
    I hope I answered your question.
    Best of luck!
    Regards,
    Khadija Ali.

  16. 16 Jim Newman
    October 29, 2009 at 18:16

    Hello Khadija
    Thank you for your answer and good luck to you.
    Jim

  17. November 2, 2009 at 11:29

    Dear friend,

    We can sacrifice even the last drop of BLOOD for our country because the state of Pakistan appeared on the world’s map as a result of indiscriminate slaughter of millions of men women and minors.Almost 90 percent of my countrymen are ready for big street shows / protest movement ,in order to show their resentment and antagonism against head cutters/ terrorists / and inefficient government that is a total failure especially in protecting lives of innocent citizens.But who is to lead them on the streets ? So the point is that we are facing acute shortage of true leadership !

    Rukhsana Maroof Kha
    from Peshawar,Pakistan
    02 Nov , 09

  18. 18 Khadija Ali
    November 4, 2009 at 20:08

    Dear Rukhsana Maroof Khan,
    it is when i come across people like you that i feel so optimistic in these trying times… Yes! we can and we have sacrificed our blood and our dear ones for Pakistan… The fact that you are from Peshawer says so much about you, the city that has seen the most devastation, yet has so much spirit… I know we need true leadership and trust me Rukhsana that is all that we need now… We have come a long way(in terms of awareness) and we will inshaAllah produce great leaders for our country… you must be aware of the hurdles this government is facing (NRO, 17th amendment) and it is people like you and me who are raising our voices against such injustice… Let this be a lesson to all future governments that we, the people, are the rulers… And also, we have great leaders amongst us, all we have to do is to recognize their potential and vote for them… Keep praying for our country…
    Best Wishes,
    Khadija Ali.


Leave a Reply

