16
Oct
09

School life…

All week I’ve been talking with students from around the globe.school

Some of them have been sharing what school life is like for them via email and here’s what they had to say.

Sharjeel, in Pakistan, goes to the Islamabad Convent School, which is part of the BBC World Class twinning project.

Islamabad school

Sharjeel, achieved 3 A’s in his exams this year. We are privileged that he found the time to share his school experience with us as he is taking an exam in statistics today – we wish him the best of luck.

Here’s what he wrote about his school life…

‘My school assembly starts at 7.40am and our classes start at 8.00am. We have five classes of one hour each day with a recess of thirty minutes after the third period.

ShajeelI do have some concerns which may impede my studies but they are not as big as the ones faced by the children in rural areas.

Firstly, I have two younger brothers and both my parents are doing jobs. In their absence, I have to take care of my brothers and help them in their studies.

Secondly, I have taken part in many of the activities in and out of school, for example, I joined Tae kwon do classes but had to leave them to get extra time for studies.

Thirdly, our country faces crises of electricity.   It hinders our studies since we cannot study in the dark.

Lastly, my biggest concern is the security and the problems due to it. I have this fear everyday when I am going to school… What if I don’t come back alive or something bad happens. I am referring to the bomb blasts and the terrorism on the move.’

Sharjeel, really wanted to join us on the show tonight but because of security reason we couldn’t ask him to go to the BBC studio in Islamabad.

Jahanara, who goes to Springdales School in News Delhi, e-mailed to share her daily rountine. school uniform meeeeeeee

Her day starts at 6am.  

Along with her co-curricular activities she has Head Girl duties.   Recently, she has had to give up her dance classes to concentrate on her studies because she has important exams in March.  She says that she misses them deeply but she is determined to get into a well reputed college in Delhi.

Her day finishes at 11:00pm. She says ‘I am in bed by this time waiting to start another hectic day’.

Jahanara, also wrote: ‘My school’s motto, “Vasudheva Kutumbakum” in Sanskrit means ‘the world is a family’, and says it all. As one of the only four Muslims in my grade, my religion has never been an obstacle. I’ve chosen to be respected than to seek cheap popularity, without compromising my principles. And in this delightful journey, my teachers have encouraged me to be, who I am.’

I also got an e-mail from Anita, who is a student at Brentside High School in London.

She said, I am in Year 9 at school, so I don’t get to chose my subjects yet.

For me, school starts at 8:45 every morning and I have 5 subjects, with a break and lunch.

I consider myself very lucky, to go to a school which I enjoy going to. I feel fortunate to have teachers who enjoy their job, explain things well and put fun into their teaching.
Anita school

Also, I appreciate going to school in a modern newly built building with smart boards in every classroom and many ICT suites.

I’ll keep sharing these insights with you as I get more e-mails from the students that I have been talking to.


10 Responses to “School life…”


  1. 1 nora
    October 16, 2009 at 16:38

    Sharjeel, I am really sorry that you cannot safely make the trip to Islamabad. Your story about family obligations is very common around the globe. Do you have ideas for others on how to succeed with these challenges?

  2. October 16, 2009 at 16:45

    It should be a requirement for all teachers to watch the movie” To Sir With Love”
    This shows the benefits of teaching life skills in addition to academic skills.

    Pat Dowling

    Edmonton Alberta
    Canada
    7

  3. 3 Leello
    October 16, 2009 at 16:55

    I’m in a french system but I don’t think there is that much difference :schools aren’t made to prepare you for a future job, they ‘re made to give you a taste of every job you can have.

  4. 4 vijay pillai
    October 16, 2009 at 17:07

    I like to see UN declare 2010 as year of education of children below the age of 10 as compulsory. Those days people educaated to this level were clerks or otehr offiers. Education is he birth rights of all humand being. Poverty redcution shoud address education and conrolling population,healh and so on all boils down to npot having been to school and cannot read, write or do simple arithmetics.

  5. 5 1430a
    October 16, 2009 at 17:29

    hey Ros,

    Can I send my school life routine?Is it too late?

    Please do tell me if I can send my routine because I think I’ve got a rare routine!!haha

    Best,

    Abhinav

  6. October 16, 2009 at 17:54

    Thanks for the post!

    While I think school is important, we need to get more students to understand that school in and of itself is not the goal. Getting an education is the goal, and there are more ways to get an education than to attend a school and take exams and do homework. As a teacher, I’ve seen (and lived) the significant disconnect between “school” and “education”, and we need to do a better job of melding the two together.

    I worry that too many nations are focusing on increasing school as opposed to increasing education. School is about homework, classes, notes, tests, assignments, and detentions. Education is about learning and exploring. When I read about the routines of the students in this profile, they seem to devote alot of time to school and not much time spent getting an education, but I hope I’m wrong!

  7. October 16, 2009 at 19:01

    Hello Helen, I am just getting the last six minutes of School Life,I tuned in at 17.00 GMT, and got “having children”. What happened?

    • 8 Helen Richmond
      October 20, 2009 at 13:16

      Hello,
      If you’d like to see it David there is a blog post up with a link to the YouTube video.
      Personally, I thought that they guests where good and they kept an interesting debate going.
      It was a really shame that we could not have Sharjeel on the programme because of security reasons though.
      Besides the students who posted above we had 2 boys from the UK who took part Nathan and Jordan, a girl in Berlin, Zeyki, a girl in Nairobi, Jambu as well as a girl in Zambi who joined us on the telephone.
      I hope that you enjoy it, let me know what you think.
      Helen

  8. 9 Jasmine, Singapore
    October 16, 2009 at 19:19

    I’m still in school — I’m only 18, and I’m really looking forward to graduate.

    I find my school system very elitist. Having been selected for an exclusive programme 10 years ago has left me in a strange position, knowing and learning so much about the world yet somewhat divorced from the reality of others left behind by this system. Meritocracy isn’t rewarding everybody since the starting line was never fair, everybody is different intelligence-wise.

    We keep thinking that education is the great leveller of society but education perpetuates inequality as well. More parents are paying more for tutors, so their children can improve their grades and eventually, social status, but education was never made to be fair.

  9. 10 scmehta
    October 17, 2009 at 08:08

    Do share your experiences and thoughts with the school-going children in Africa and other not-so-rich countries too; inspire and urge them to bravely overcome the odds and not lose sight of their aspirations, because education is the best way to overcome poverty and ignorance.
    God bless you.


Leave a Reply

