14
Sep
09

Would you let your child go to a spa?

And not just any spa, this is one of three spas in Beirut that are open for children.

“The kid is the main client here, but the mom can also do her nails or get a brushing [blow dry],” explained Maya Kabbani Hilal, the 34-year-old owner and creator of Spa-Tacular Salon and Spa . “Kids come in to take care of themselves, to look good and to pamper themselves.”

Would you take your child to this spa? We all like a bit of pampering and taking care of ourselves no matter how we do it, do think it’s a good idea children have access to the same thing?

This blogger is very angry and says:
“What would a young girl, who at the age of four,is a regular at a beauty parlor, be doing at the age of 15 to live up to the image she was groomed to have? or at 25 for that matter?”

I wonder what you make of it.


10 Responses to “Would you let your child go to a spa?”


  1. 1 Dennis Junior
    September 14, 2009 at 12:21

    Shaimaa Khalil:

    Since, I don’t have kids, I am going to thread on this issue a little bit and, say NO…For children to the spa…

    =Dennis Junior=

  2. 2 ARTHUR NJUGUNA
    September 14, 2009 at 12:51

    Its not a bad idea although it is another case of businesses targeting children as marketing tool. Its not a fair game though it is getting condoned. By this means these businesses are subjecting the parent to child-pressure in order to be milked of their cash. Very few parents will say no for fear of having the children feeling isolated from what their peers are getting.

    However, it is can be another interaction avenue for the kid, the commercial world and his or her peers. However, how far it should go depends on the parent.

  3. 3 Jennifer
    September 14, 2009 at 13:19

    Re: Would you take your child to this spa?

    No!

  4. 4 Ann
    September 14, 2009 at 13:31

    If my child was ill and such ‘therapy’ might be beneficial then yes, but otherwise I think childen would benefit more from playing outside, getting dirty, climbing tress, running around with other childen and having a great time.

    We need to stop wrapping our kids up in cotten wool – let them be children for goodness sake! There’s plenty time later to be an adult.

  5. 5 patti in cape coral
    September 14, 2009 at 14:43

    It was a non-issue for me, seeing as I couldn’t afford to send my kids to a spa anyways, but I doubt I would have sent them to a spa in any case. I thought a spa was a place where, ahem, older folks could get some rest and refurbish their looks a bit, so I don’t understand why a child would need that. I can see if you have the money to splurge, having a mother/daughter outing to a spa before senior prom, or before a big dance, but that’s at the teenage level. I’m not saying it’s the most horrible thing to do, but I think it’s a horrible thing to get your kids used to if you aren’t going to be able to keep it up for the rest of their lives.

    • 6 Jennifer
      September 14, 2009 at 19:47

      Patti,

      I agree with you.Not everyone has the $ to spend. I remember being little and my mom painting my fingernails.🙂 It wasn’t all the time but it was fun every once in awhile.

      These spa-type visits are not “bad” but I think they should be reserved for special occasions or once in awhile. Otherwise, it would be expected!

      • 7 Dennis Junior
        September 16, 2009 at 16:12

        Jennifer:

        I support your rationale and also, agreed with you that MOST parents DON’T have the money to take the children to the spa on a (weekly) basis……

        =Dennis Junior=

  6. 8 steve
    September 14, 2009 at 15:21

    I truly pity any man who marries these girls who day, given how spoiled they are going to be.

  7. 9 anu_d
    September 14, 2009 at 17:08

    Yes……I do take my 3.5 years old…..daughter occasionally and get her a little foot massgae…she loves it….keeps her busy while I ma having my treatements

  8. 10 scmehta
    September 15, 2009 at 13:50

    Why not call it ‘spo’ (for spoil) ? It’s best for the kids, and may be for their moms as well, to be satisfied in a simple, healthy and natural environment; if at all they are too keen, they can always manage or improvise a ‘spa’ in their homes.


Leave a Reply

