08
Sep
09

“I am who I am and I’m proud of myself”

Caster Semenya Just seen this story of South African sprinter Caster Semanya’s makeover has hit ‘most read’ on the BBC website. Wondering what you make of it? Here is the front cover of the magazine who did the shoot.

The BBC has learned that the South African runner, Caster Semenya, will be allowed to keep the gold medal she won in the eight-hundred metres World Championships last month — regardless of the results of gender tests.

 A spokesman for the governing body of world athletics (Nick Davies) told the BBC it would be legally very difficult to ask Caster Semenya to hand back her medal because the IAAF had allowed her to take part in the race. South African leaders accused the IAAF of humiliating Caster Semenya following the allegations that she was a man. (The BBC’s Sports Correspondent says the gender tests continuing and are unlikely to be concluded for another two weeks.)

 

 


17 Responses to ““I am who I am and I’m proud of myself””


  1. 1 Tom K in Mpls
    September 8, 2009 at 17:41

    Kinda sad that she feels the need to give into the pressures of the media ideal. I bet next she will start doing McDonalds commercials.

  2. 2 Jessica in NYC
    September 8, 2009 at 17:41

    I can relate and sympathize with Ms. Semanya’s situation. Growing up poor I always dressed in hand-me-downs and looked like a tom-boy climbing trees. Given different opportunities, who knows, I might be a girlie-girl. Luckily, I do not live in the spot light so my un-feminine moments do not get scrutinized by the world. As a woman, Ms. Semanya’s is expected to maintained a feminine quality to her appearance and that includes rosy lips and fixed hair. People need to accept women are not defined by our appearance, but by with the gender we are born to.

    • 3 Dennis Junior
      September 8, 2009 at 18:36

      I know, how Jessica feels, I did not have the extra money when I was younger to get all of the best clothes…

      I am glad that she is proud of herself..

      =Dennis Junior=

    • 4 Dennis Junior
      September 8, 2009 at 18:39

      I can relate and understand where Ms. Semanya is coming from also, Becuase I was poor and, I never got the hand-me-downs (clothes) But, she could’ve afford some nice clothes before this story even broke…..

      =Dennis Junior=

  3. 5 NSC_London
    September 8, 2009 at 18:34

    This poor girl, feel so bad for her. I can understand the need for gender testing, but to make it world news was cruel.

  4. 6 vijay pillai
    September 8, 2009 at 18:52

    My first impression of her in running gear was that she is a girl no doubt and i was proved right.

  5. 7 vijay pillai
    September 8, 2009 at 19:00

    it doesnot surprise me since people are used to known people winning all the time and there is lot of money involved these days and if a new comer win out of the blue ,it upset their financial gain and the hassle ensued.

    You would have seen the very same people who were hot on their heels to criticise and make a meal of it would have been the one who bent over backward to embrace her and not surprising it exponentially elevated this unknown pedigree to stardom not just in sport btu in fasion and what not.Good luck to her.

  6. 8 patti in cape coral
    September 8, 2009 at 20:28

    It seems to me this whole situation has been handled very unprofessionally. This should have been kept out of the public eye until something was known, or she should have been tested before entering the race. Oh well, all publicity is good publicity, and hopefully she will able to turn this to her benefit.

  7. 9 Dennis Junior
    September 8, 2009 at 22:38

    For the staff: Spell check,

    T”I am who I am and I’m proud of myself””

    =Dennis Junior=

  8. 10 Dennis Junior
    September 9, 2009 at 01:15

    I’m glad, that Caster Semenya, will be undertaking a makeover…

    =Dennis Junior=

  9. 11 T
    September 9, 2009 at 01:23

    There will always be somebody ready to have a go at top athletes. Another example: Lance Armstrong. He’s won the Tour de France 7 times. And still he’s being hounded by “experts” who know that he was doping before these. Really? Are you a doctor? No. But I KNOW he was.

    Good thing he can afford all of the attorney’s fees.

  10. 12 Dora
    September 9, 2009 at 14:05

    Just as an aside, I’ve never understood this ‘acting feminine/tomboy (I hate that expression)’ thing, everything I do is feminine because I am female…

  11. September 9, 2009 at 14:31

    Excuse me, just so I can know…
    Is Gender defined by any factor other than a person’s sex and probably genital organs?
    If no, then why the tests?
    If yes, then is it only Ms Caster that needs to be tested? Why not line the whole world for the test?

    • 14 Tom K in Mpls
      September 9, 2009 at 16:44

      Two issues here. Medically, there are many measures of gender, genetic, visual and chemical. Also, testosterone enhances muscles and aggression.

      Then there is the question of the source of the testosterone. Has it occurred naturally or is it a doping issue? You could go further on the natural issue. Do you allow any natural abnormality (evolution) or do you choose some limit and call it an ‘acceptable norm’.

  12. 15 steve
    September 9, 2009 at 15:44

    @ Nengak

    Unfortunately in the west, the PC view is gender should be whatever you feel like you should be. I can understand if you were born a hermphrodite, you legitimately have a decision to make, but some people who just have serious problems refuse to accept what they are, and society enables them by passing laws to protect them, to allow them to use the opposite sex bathrooms, and even enables them by having drastic surgery to make them more like what they want to be like. It’s one of the few cases society really enables the mentally ill. It’s about as messed up as people who would have surgery to change their race. They cannot accept who they are, and that should be treated, and not enabled.

  13. 16 cinnamon
    September 9, 2009 at 19:42

    what i dont understand is why the tests are being called gender tests. Gender pertains to the roles that society has designated to men by virtue of them being men and women by virtue of them being women e.g. women are the nurturers and caretakers of children while men are supposed to be the ones working and providing for a family. However sex is biological that is a woman is a woman because of her physical features and like wise for a man. The tests therefore should not be referred to as gender tests.
    Im glad Caster is proud of who she is.

  14. September 10, 2009 at 00:23

    Of course i am proud of who i am. Since when its any bodies business to judge who looks how , why etc…etc….? As a society we need to worry about other real problems and learn how not to lecture on others looks and what not.


Leave a Reply

