26
Jun
09

Your favourite MJ tracks

We’re after a nomination and a reason why – and I’ll do my best to post the track if it’s on YouTube. I’ll kick off with Maybe Tomorrow by the Jackson 5. I was living in Johannesburg and went down to a pawn shop at the end of the road. There was a big pile of vinyl and sitting near the bottom was the album Maybe Tomorrow. I had all their big hits on 45, but not this and Michael Jackson’s vocal on the title track hit the spot straight away.

NELSON GOES FOR MAN IN THE MIRROR (see comment below)…

Hi Shaimaa here: Mine is Who Is It, That intro!

Madeleine’s is ABC

Sheetal’s is Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough

Krupa’s is Heal The World

And it’s Smooth Criminal for Claudia


26 Responses to “Your favourite MJ tracks”


  1. June 26, 2009 at 11:22

    My favorite track is “Man in the mirror”

    As a young boy then, the lyrics made so much impact on me.

  2. 2 emmanuel
    June 26, 2009 at 11:37

    Though his 1980’s works propelled him to international acclaim, my favorite track is ‘You rocked my world’ which came later in the stars life and it did exactly that. It rocked my world!

  3. 4 Donnamarie in Switzerland
    June 26, 2009 at 12:48

    I was not a Michael Jackson fan, but “Billie Jean” is nevertheless one of my all-time favorite songs. It is technically perfect, but sung with a conviction (soul, if you will) hard to achieve in a big-production pop number.

  4. 5 patti in cape coral
    June 26, 2009 at 13:26

    My favourite track is Oh baby give me one more chance, done when he was still a boy. His voice was uncomparable to anything before or since, kind of sweet and piercing, particularly in this song.

  5. 6 Wambui
    June 26, 2009 at 14:00

    Mine would probably be smooth criminal. Loved it as a child! Got to admit I still have no idea what its about though. I should probably google for lyrics.

    Wambui; Nairobi

  6. June 26, 2009 at 14:04

    This is hard there are many but I go with “Billie Jean” the drums the mixing the eccentricity mirrored the character of the man in real life.
    I feel sad

  7. 8 Ibrahim in UK
    June 26, 2009 at 14:24

    For me it has to be that Thriller video. Especially the “monster dance”. Still enjoy it even today.

  8. 9 Jennifer
    June 26, 2009 at 14:29

    Billie Jean-which was released in 1983-2 years before I was born!🙂

  9. 11 Amy
    June 26, 2009 at 14:43

    Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough. It’s a fun song that never ceases to make me smile.

  10. 12 S Rochea - New York City
    June 26, 2009 at 14:51

    The death of Michael Jackson is felt like a riddled body shut by bullets from a machine gun to the emotions; this pain is felt throuhout the four corners of the universe; billions of people globally are absolutely devasted by the sad news- a major tragedy to all music lovers around the globe. Like Super Star Reggae Legend Bob Marley’s death became a sudden blow to our heart and souls around the globe; sadly today we too share that level of deep emotional pain. It was just a twilight ago, perhaps a month when I told my wife that I don’t think that Michael Jackson can sustain the physical demands this time around with the intense movement on stage that became his Signature Statement of his masterful electrical dance moves. It was rumored for sometime that he was in failing health and for this reason I would have thought that the Concert Promoters would have been more engage with his health situation. His music will never die – two of my favourite songs – “Never Can Say Goodbye”& You are Not Alone” ( a track written by R.Kelly R.B superstar.
    His life should be chronicled obejectively, however we should focus on his amazing brilliant contribution to music and the black culture, regardless of the controversies of skin bleaching. May his soul and spirit be with God and he will be join by many super legends such as Bob Marley, James Brown, Elvis Presley and many more legends who have left a legacy in this universe.
    Regards,
    Sylvester

  11. 13 deryck/trinidad
    June 26, 2009 at 15:23

    Smooth Criminal, Billie Jean, Dirty Diana.
    Michael Jackson the greatest performer I have ever seen.

  12. 14 Barry
    June 26, 2009 at 15:40

    “Blame It on the Boogie” is a classic Jackson 5 song. You cannot listen to it without turning it up as loud as possible.

  13. 15 Teresa
    June 26, 2009 at 17:26

    I’ve always dug “Human Nature”

    That or anything off of Thriller

  14. 16 Erin in Salt Lake City
    June 26, 2009 at 18:15

    “Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough” will always epitomize Michael Jackson as I want to remember him: young, energetic, and seemingly comfortable in his own skin.

  15. 17 Venessa
    June 26, 2009 at 18:19

    How can anyone pick just one! I’ll go with Wanna be Startin’ Somethin’ followed by Scream he did with his sister!

  16. June 26, 2009 at 18:29

    “Scream” was a great video. But, Billy Jean takes the solo-career cake. To answer Ros: “Got to Be there” and “ABC”

  17. 19 Chrissy in Portland
    June 26, 2009 at 18:33

    So hard to pick one! Always loved “Rock With You”

  18. 20 Nicole from NY
    June 26, 2009 at 18:44

    “Wanna Be Starin’ Something”- since I was ten years old, this song, especially the Afro-influenced chant at the end, lifts my spirit like no other song.

  19. 21 brinda,India
    June 26, 2009 at 18:45

    I agree to the Indian caller,,,,,,,,,,,he was so well known ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,even in remote villages in Inida ……..you will be surprised.During the 80s ,, any local event would have an Michael jackson imitator Or a group performing his song.

  20. 22 brinda,India
    June 26, 2009 at 18:47

    Pls the man deserve a tribute……………….

  21. June 26, 2009 at 19:42

    I’m 30 and I grew up on MJ music in Uzbekistan. His music didn’t have a color, religion, or your view on life, he was international star.
    He will be always in my heart.

  22. 24 Prem Nizar Hameed
    June 27, 2009 at 11:52

    The Sudden departure to the infinite of Michael Jackson is a great loss to the entire music world. Maybe he is the only singer almost all the people in the world can easily remember, because he was in such a fame and glory. Don’t walk like Michael Jackson was the comment we used to make on our school singers and dancers. Thriller still thrills millions in the world. His personal life however does not shadow his music life. No one can replace him. Legends are born only, they don’t die. He will live on and on till music ends.

  23. 25 MarcusAureliusII
    June 28, 2009 at 12:51

    My favorite part of Michael Jackson’s recordings are the parts between the tracks, the parts that are silent. They offer an all too brief auditory respite.

  24. 26 Nelson in Kampala
    June 28, 2009 at 14:08

    Love all his songs but may be Dirty Diana or Give it to me


Leave a Reply

