12
Jun
09

Does Frank believe in fate?


7 Responses to “Does Frank believe in fate?”


  1. 1 Andrew in Australia
    June 12, 2009 at 17:47

    Humans as a whole have a desperate need to ascribe some meaning to everything that exists and everything that happens. It is an almost pathological need to do so otherwise I don’t believe many people could handle the ultimate truth that – things – just – happen. Not always for a reason as we wish they would, but the universe goes on with or without us, it did before we were on the scene and will continue on well after we have extinguished ourselves. To not apply some meaning to things means that we are no longer the dominant or most important thing that exists – that something could occur without in some way revolving around us is unthinkable. Apart from physics and chemistry which defines the universe and drives it there is no meraning as we would like to have it. If you start to think that if only I took a second longer to comb my hair then X Y and Z would not have happened, you will spend the rest of life reviewing all the moments in a life that could have been done differently to avoid an infinity of outcomes. It just doesn’t work that way. And we have always done this. In prehistoric times, ghosts and spirits, then came the fates and the Gods and we will always do this. It is in our nature, but it doesn’t mean it is real!

  2. 2 Julio from McMinnville
    June 12, 2009 at 18:08

    I don’t believe in fate because fate its just part of a superstitious believe system and superstitious people have bad luck…I, knock on wood, am not superstitious.
    On the other hand, there seems to be an greater order of things science alone and religion alone can not explain.

  3. 3 Matthew Hyman
    June 12, 2009 at 18:30

    Fate is what you make it. I grew up on the premise that “man is master of his destiny” and with that fate cannot be a factor of my future or anybody else. Fate is just like LUCK, DESTINY etc. I make my decesions, therefore I am responsable for my FATE my DESTINY.

    Cheers,

    Matt

  4. 4 Ralph
    June 12, 2009 at 18:34

    First, people need to define what they mean by “fate” – their ideas vary widely.

    Second, since all things are connected, the future depends exclusively on what has gone before. Thus, it is theoretically possible to predict everything, but this requires a knowledge of everything!

    Since we do not know everything, we cannot perceive certain connections, and thus attribute happenings to “chance”, which some call “fate”. Others think fate is “destiny”.

  5. 5 Jim from PDX
    June 12, 2009 at 18:36

    I totally believe in “fate” but also believe you can “feel” whats going to happen if you meditate and tune out lifes noises. I think your unconsious mind knows much more about what is going on than we admit ourselves.

    It was fate when I met my wife but also fate that I found out she was having a affair…. This was a bed thing but now a great thing for me.

  6. 6 Ralph
    June 12, 2009 at 18:52

    To say that something is “meant” to happen implies that there is some being who “means” it to happen.

    “Luck” seems to be used as a combination of “chance” and “destiny”.

    Events do not occur out of nowhere – therefore, everything is “meant to happen” (whether or not there is any being who “means” it to).

  7. 7 Kate
    June 13, 2009 at 00:53

    I am not sure I believe in fate. As a person who isn’t religious, it is hard to credit certain life events to anything other than happy (or sad) coincidence. However, I am still amazed that I was lucky enough to meet my soul mate a mere two weeks after moving to Portland. He is my best friend and now husband. However, the day we met, he was also a complete stranger. It is hard to believe that we weren’t meant to meet each other, you know? Given the circumstances. Regardless, I am so incredibly happy and grateful that things worked out the way they did — even if it was just a happy, amazing, wonderful coincidence.


Leave a Reply

