09
Jun
09

WHYS goes for pancakes at Momma Jane’s



Here’s Don, one of the regulars at Momma Jane’s pancake house in the Dalles, where Wednesday’s programme is coming from. One of the issues we’re tossing up (no pancake pun intended) for the show, is the issue of unemployment so check out Julia’s post below.


5 Responses to “WHYS goes for pancakes at Momma Jane’s”


  1. 1 Bill Seymour
    June 10, 2009 at 05:01

    It might be worth talking about the changes that The Dalles has gone through over the last 20 years or so. The area was somewhat of a boom town when the dam went in in the 50s and when the John Day dam went in after that. Electricity was cheap and plentiful, so several aluminum plants were started in the area. The Dalles went through their own recession in the 90s and early this century when the plants shut down. The area had very high unemployment even when other areas around the state were doing well. Things have turned around a bit over the last couple of years, with the advent of Google and other higher tech firms in the area.

  2. 2 Jerry
    June 10, 2009 at 18:40

    i am unemployed for the last 4 years. I was a senior level IT manager, I had worked my way up through all of the IT positions. I lost my position when a new CEO brought in his friends.

    I am not drawing unemployment, but I may have to.

    I have applied for numerous jobs at all levels of IT and can not get hired for the lower level jobs because I am considered over qualified and they are afraid I will leave for a better position. The higher level jobs are few and far between.

    I know of one local tech job that had 900 applicants.

    From Indiana

  3. June 10, 2009 at 18:52

    In response to Oregonians volunteering while they are unemployed, it is my understanding that in the state of Oregon you are not allowed to volunteer while you are collecting unemployment benefits. This actually will result in disqualification from the state system.

  4. June 10, 2009 at 19:01

    I think there are work opportunities for all Americans even though our unemployment rate is the highest it has been in decades. I think Americans should accept change in their lives especially in employment. Our idealogical thinking is to graduate from high school, go to college, and hope to land the job of our dreams. This is not the case now. Government should step in and give training to those who are entrepreneurial to start businesses or learn how to run say a local restaurant, grocery store, gas station, dry cleaners right out of high schoo. Why go straight to college when only 37% of the college graduates even land the job of their dreams? Why are the minorites from other countries continue to run local businesses while Americans continue to struggle for employment? I graduated from UCSD with a major in Economics but could not land a job out of college in my field in San Diego. I moved to Las Vegas where their were hiring tons of candidates. I worked odd jobs until I got money to start my own business. Now, I have two businesses to supplement my income and support my wife and two kids, and now I’m happy.

    Dale from Las Vegas

  5. 5 Toad Toed Princess
    June 11, 2009 at 18:34

    OH NO! Scott is incorrect. You can volunteer while receiving Oregon unemployment benefits as long as you continue to meet the state’s requirements which are listed online. You can even work as long as the income is reported using the guidelines given by the state.

    Always rely on the official government site:

    http://www.oregon.gov/EMPLOY/UI/index.shtml


Leave a Reply

