03
Jun
09

Carlos in Mexico

CarlosI’m Carlos. I’m a WHYS listener from Mexico City. I love this programme because it provides a perspective about global issues, and it is ordinary people like me sharing their views on how these issues affect our lives.

About a month ago I had the incredible opportunity to take part in the programme that was broadcasted from Mexico City, just right after the swine flue outbreak took place.

We were supposed to sit down to discuss violence related to drug cartels and so on, but we ended up talking about millions of people wearing face masks, and not being able to even touch or talk to each other too close because of safety reasons.

It was a thrilling and surreal experience at the same time.

I’m a language teacher and listening to WHYS provides me with the opportunity of witnessing how English has become the dominant linguistic force of the century, and how people across the entire planet are adapting it to fit their culture and make it a valuable tool to cope with the challenges of globalisation.


3 Responses to “Carlos in Mexico”


  1. 1 John D. Augustine - WI USA
    June 4, 2009 at 15:33

    On the subject of topical news:

    I missed the Mexico City program, but I hope it wasn’t entirely about the flu. It was a hot story, but it will pass of it’s own accord. The problems of drug violence and political corruption are ongoing, but can be overcome if people would just keep talking. I depend on the BBC as one of the few news outlets to cover such ongoing stories. Let’s hope there will be plenty of follow-up electronically.

    Economic inequality seems to always be at the heart of such problems. I’d like to know more about how the evolving free trade policies are affecting economic development, from both the corporate and the average person’s perspective in Mexico and elsewhere around the world.

  2. 2 John D. Augustine - WI USA
    June 4, 2009 at 16:09

    On the subject of linguistics:

    Like most Americans, I grew up thinking I would never need to learn a foreign language. I was glad a college requirement made me study Spanish. Among the things I was most glad to learn was the ability to communicate and even make people laugh in another language. I never became fluent, but learned enough to know how something I wrote in Spanish just didn’t sound the same in English. Timing and syntax do change the music of speech.

    I also learned the history of Spanish, and why it is so easy to learn because it was developed by an official language academy, with the purpose of uniting various kingdoms of the Iberian peninsula. Knowing this, it would seem logical for Spanish to become the dominant international language of this century.

    Que sera, sera.

  3. 3 Dennis Junior
    July 13, 2009 at 03:38

    @ Carlos: Thanks for the excellent intro…
    ~Dennis Junior~


Leave a Reply

