29
May
09

Krupa Thakrar

pic 1I’m affectionately known on the World Have Your Say team as Marshmallow, mainly because I thought houses were built on stilts for ventilation and because I accidently bought a real crocodile’s head on a work trip to Florida. If you ever get to meet us, I’m sure you’ll hear the stories. 

I started my BBC career just over a year ago as a journalism trainee on the Today programme on BBC Radio 4. I’d been knocking the BBC’s door for a job for years without any joy so I was thrilled to finally have my foot in the door! After leaving university, I went onto work for the International Organization for Migration for two years liaising with grassroots media to communicate with asylum seekers and irregular migrants.

My first taste of journalism was with my local paper shop stacking newspapers and magazines during my schools years. This was followed by a short stint of work experience at the Economist magazine where I fainted on my first day in the editorial meeting – definitely one of my most embarrassing moments. I fell unconscious, was packed in a black cab and sent to hospital.

I’m a bit of a Francophile having worked in Paris as a student. The suburb didn’t have the best reputation but the kids I taught were really inspiring. I try to regularly read Courrier International and often revert to Le Petit Prince for the umpteenth time when I think my French language skills are a bit rusty. I’m reading it now.

When I’m not producing and planning a wedding (yes I’m getting married in 11 weeks) I like to think I can sing. I’m a big fan of Indian classical, folk and Sufi music.  I find it really relaxing. You can often find me in my parents’ garage recording tracks or at the Nehru centre in London. I’m also a big fan of learning languages. I’m on my fifth, but I think it’s going to take a while to master Spanish. I use to keep a blog but that has came to a temporary halt since my boyfriend proposed. I now tend to spend a large amount of my time in the evenings on confetti forums and my dream shaadi looking for make up artists, florists and wedding decorators. The team have been very patient with me and my wedding banter.

little and largeWhen I was freelancing across the BBC, I secretly wished I’d get a job on World Have Your Say –I feel really lucky to be a part of  the team. I’m probably the smallest person the team has ever had and Mark’s definitely the biggest, but I think it’s a good reflection of the team dynamic – everyone has a place and a say. Please note – I am wearing heels in the photo on the left.


8 Responses to “Krupa Thakrar”


  1. 1 Dennis Junior
    May 30, 2009 at 19:16

    Welcome Krupa to the WHYS family…And, also, sorry for being the shortest staff member in the BBC WHYS!

    …Also, great information about yourself.

    ~Dennis Junior~

  2. 2 Jim Newman
    May 31, 2009 at 22:21

    Hello Krupa
    Tell me, why didn’t you accidently buy a whole crocodile?
    Anyway nice to meet you.
    Jim

  3. 3 Ramesh
    May 31, 2009 at 22:24

    Mark looks like a monster beside you!!

  4. June 1, 2009 at 14:51

    Hey welcome to WHYS… thank God you secret dreams paid off for you and you are now in WHYS. I hope your wedding will be a topic on WHYS when it comes up (consider this a debate suggestion).
    Will sure love to hear more about ‘Marshmallow and the crocodile head’, preferably from you in person if ever our paths cross. But what did you mistake a crocos head for?
    Hey regards to all (big and small).
    Nengak.

  5. 5 Joseph A. Migliore
    June 2, 2009 at 07:49

    Hi Ms. Krupa,

    Welcome to WHYS, I hope to have an opportunity to meet you when your team broadcasts from Portland next week..

    I’ve sent you an e-mail tonight, seperately asking WHYS to consider broadcasting from Portland State University (PSU), and also presenting a couple of suggested topics for your staff to consider while in Portland.

    My Conflict Resolution graduate classmates and professors would obviously be interested in participating in WHYS broadcast next week while your team is in Portland.

    Thank-you, have a good day.

    All the best,

  6. 6 anu_D
    June 22, 2009 at 20:30

    Hello Krupa,

    Good to read about you.
    would be interesting to know where you are from and what you did before you took on the BBC role a year back.

    cheers—a_D

  7. 7 Shiraz Mankar
    July 4, 2009 at 06:09

    Hello Krupa,
    Nice to see you today ! I am sorry but the line was too bad due to the weather. I would appreciate if you could mail me the link about the debate on gays which was on air yesterday.
    Cheer !
    David

  8. 8 ARTHUR NJUGUNA
    December 22, 2009 at 18:55

    Howdy Grandma & your best!

    MERRY CHRISTMAS & HAPPY NEW YEAR

    Contine to walk tall in the New Year. One reason I have an ear to the BBC radio is to hear you. Continue to do it again and again.


Leave a Reply

