22
May
09

Talking Points: 22 May

rosesWould you quit your job for love? That’s exactly what this Texan Mayor has done after it emerged that he’d fallen in love with his gay partner, who also happens to be an illegal immigrant from Mexico. Now that’s quite a big deal for Texas says this blogger. Some, like this writer are clearly impressed with the politician’s honesty and commitment to love. 

Helplines have been flooded since the release of a report on child abuse in Catholic establishments  in Ireland. Yesterday also saw missing child Madeleine McCann back in the news after police began looking for a new paedophile suspect. What should we do with paedophiles? And is it the hysteria surrounding high profile cases that encourage people to come forward about their abuse experiences?

The Sri Lankan government are taking revenge on Tamils following their victory against the LTTE. Despite international pressure, violence still continues. So why bother? Is the best form of political pressure just  humanitarian aid?


9 Responses to “Talking Points: 22 May”


  1. 1 Jennifer
    May 22, 2009 at 13:50

    Re: Would you quit your job for love?

    I don’t think I would. After all, I am first and foremost myself; with my own goals too. However, I think the issue with this mayor; he is in a position of power/authority in a community. His lack of judgment in choosing a “partner” who is a legal US resident discredits him. Either he make the choice he did or I doubt he would be taken seriously as mayor.

    Re: Helplines have been flooded since the release of a report on child abuse in Catholic establishments in Ireland. Yesterday also saw missing child Madeleine McCann back in the news after police began looking for a new paedophile suspect. What should we do with paedophiles? And is it the hysteria surrounding high profile cases that encourage people to come forward about their abuse experiences?

    It makes me angry and disgusted that so called priests muck up my religion with their inability to truly represent what a priest should. They exploit the trust people have in them and that is shameful.

  2. 2 Dennis Junior
    May 22, 2009 at 13:54

    Krupa:

    1]Would you quit your job for love? [Yes…I would quit my job for TRUE LOVE….]

    ~Dennis Junior~

  3. 3 john
    May 22, 2009 at 18:55

    I cannot quit my job for love, how then can i sustain the love when i am jobless? It is simply not possible because I might end up losing the two at the end.

  4. 4 ~Rhoda in the United States
    May 22, 2009 at 19:07

    Um….no. There is no way.

  5. 5 sina
    May 22, 2009 at 22:22

    For my opinions , I think that you can give up my job for love because I think if my love partner need me and could help her by facing to quit my job i will do it and the important thing is job we can fine next time but good lover it is so hard to find.

  6. 6 Tom D Ford
    May 23, 2009 at 03:40

    Didn’t one of your Brit Monarchists quit to marry Wallis Simpson? I forget the guys name.

  7. 7 Carlos
    May 23, 2009 at 16:57

    Depending on the woman and on the relationship, yes I would. As a matter of fact, I did it. Though I’m German, when I met my wife the first time I was living in Portugal, I moved 3 weeks later to Brasil to start a new job in Curitiba as project manager. However, my wife is canadian living in Toronto, so we could only contact through msn and meet every 2 month, after 1 year I quit my job and went to Canada so we could start a life together. Though at the begin it was not easy to find a job, today we are happily married and I must say I am the happiest man in the world.

    ##Carlos##

  8. 8 Karl Greene
    May 24, 2009 at 22:27

    May 24, 2:15 p.m., PDT
    Whether or not I would quit my job for love would depend on two factors: my age and the health of the economy. If I were young (under 40), I might quit my job for love because, at that age, one can almost always get another job.

    If the nation’s, and the world’s, economy were in good shape, I might quit my job for love because one can almost always get another job. Obviously, that’s not the case now. Given current conditions, one must cling desperately to any job he/she has. It could disappear at any moment. One might be unemployed, homeless, hungry and deeply depressed for a long time.

    We shall assume that this mayor is not stupid but has some other financial assets up his sleeve.

    Fortunately, many of us have taken some crazy actions for love. Ah, love! If you haven’t done that, if you’ve always led a sensible life, I feel sorry for you. You haven’t really LIVED.

  9. 9 eco(australia)
    May 25, 2009 at 05:15

    Well, well, well. The condition known as homosexuality is certainly flavour of the month! Such is the aberration caused by a decaying, permissive ‘civilisation’.

    We live under DIY morality today. Homosexuals & other gender-benders occupy positions of wealth and influence. The pink dollar is holy. Gender studies and the like are widespread in university. Most learn to mindlessly re-hash the political correctness (enforced conformity),

    Lesbianism is the latest badge of honour – especially among ambitious ‘entertainers’, such as Ellen & Portia and The Veronicas. The cultural gurus of the media insist on pressing on taboos. Recently, two Australian youth-oriented soap operas – “Home and Away” & then “Neighbours” had well-publicised lesby kisses. Coincidence? No, an orchestrated campaign. Our laws protect the deviant. Our right to complain has effectively been taken away. Our schools and churches are prime tools for brainwashing the masses into acceptance of ‘same-sex’ attraction, cohabitation and ‘marriage’. As if there isn’t enough confusion in familial relationships!

    Sympathy?? No. This Mayor has let down his constituents. For a start, he will cost them dearly in re-election costs. More, he is unforgivably selfish and obviously craves media attention. Sympathy?? No. in these days of chequebook ‘journalism’, he and his sex partner will probably make a fortune selling their story to the media. Obviously the PR ‘spin’ will be crucial. It’s all about entertainment – of the media first. Just make sure we emphasise homosexual love, not male-to-male lust.


Leave a Reply

