02
May
09

Heading for the country

After the shift in advice on when we will and won’t be contagious, I’ve decided to stay away from my daughter and, in an improbable turn of events, am now driving around south-east England in a motorhome I’ve borrowed from my brother-in-law. I’m staying away until Wednesday.

Here’s an article I’ve written for the Guardian about our experience since we’ve been back.


11 Responses to “Heading for the country”


  1. May 2, 2009 at 15:18

    Hi Ros,
    “Swine flu: ‘Reading this article won’t infect you’
    I still wonder if the people who listened to your contribution live on WHYS last Thursday got infected by swine flu. ( I am just joking!)

    Well, your case and that of the other WHYS team members show that ,sometimes, it’s hard to indeed find a friend in need. People can become easily both cynical and unjustly hysterical.

    Your case reminds me of the movies featuring health scare through the spread of viruses and the plan to spread viruses as in the famous Mission Impossible.

    Well, I think you have accomplished your mission in Mexico courageously. The four days you’re going to spend alone, let’s say, can be an opportunity to be away from the rest of the world and deaf to what everyone has to say.

    Anyway enjoy your moments of total privacy. I am sure anyone reading your article will have mixed feelings. What matters is that you should keep safe, especially from shocking words, gestures and glances. I am sure everything will be right.

  2. 2 steve
    May 2, 2009 at 18:25

    Well Ros, If you weren’t convinced about the idiocy of people, I’m sure this will. I’m reading about “flu hysteria” in the US in emergency room, and doctors are really upset about people wasting their time and resources… I’m sure more people have gotten sick and died from food poising in the same time, but nobody seems to be freaking out about that. More people have probably died from meteor strikes…

  3. 3 Alicia
    May 2, 2009 at 20:13

    HI Ros

    I read your article and yes here in Colombia they are all paroid too, nobody wants to see me till wednesday. In my grandmother’s house I am only allowed in wearing a facemask.. I really feel like I have the plague.

  4. 4 Nelson Isibor
    May 2, 2009 at 22:18

    Nice Article Ros.
    It’s pretty amazing what guys like you would do for the sake of journalism.
    Your temporary Isolation is one of those things and please give us daily updates during those four days.
    Keep up the good work.

  5. 5 Bob in Queensland
    May 3, 2009 at 06:45

    Great article, Ros!

    ….and I’m proud to know you, even slightly. You’re my very first social pariah!

    Do people chant “unclean! unclean!” when they realise it’s you?

  6. 6 Dennis Junior
    May 3, 2009 at 18:02

    Ros:

    I am so sorry for you in situation right now, having to stay in a motor-home in South-East England….

    My thoughts are with you at this time….

    ~Dennis Junior~

  7. 8 Peter sc
    May 4, 2009 at 12:47

    I put on my mask when I clicked on your talking point site.

  8. 9 Vijay
    May 4, 2009 at 13:39

    Oi! Atkins NO!
    As if it wasn’t bad enough the WHYS crew were allowed back in the country(should have been rounded up on arrival and put in a disused air force base or borstal,until you received the all clear,no five star hotels like China,this the UK, we are skint) ,now you’ve gone stir crazy ,escaped and are in the process contaminating the whole South East of England, are you working for the Al Queda biological warfare cell.
    Stay away from farm animals, the NFU might put a bounty on yer.

  9. 10 Dennis Junior
    May 5, 2009 at 00:14

    Ros: Great article, I saved the URL for some of my friends….

    ~Dennis Junior~

  10. 11 steve
    May 5, 2009 at 14:22

    Ros, I think you can come out of exile now. The washington post has an article this morning about why Mexico is the only nation having deaths due to swine flu, and basically it boils down to poverty and unwillingness to seek medical attention. People are going to pharmacies instead of hospitals. A lot more people die of the seasonal flus than this…. Just the media doesn’t pay attention to it.


Leave a Reply

