13
Apr
09

Please keep it brief

Just a quick reminder that we’d like all our comments on this blog to be a contribution to a conversation, not an essay on a particular subject. I’ve just been approving comments for the past hour and a fair amount got deleted because of their length. Our blog guidelines are here. If we all stick to them, the discussions we have will be all the better for it. Thanks.


10 Responses to “Please keep it brief”


  1. 1 Jennifer
    April 13, 2009 at 17:21

    I am sorry for my posts that are longer. It seems that I get too wordy at times. I’ll try to cut some of that out.🙂

  2. 2 Dennis Junior
    April 13, 2009 at 17:33

    Thanks, Ros and the WHYS for re-posting this item regarding the length of comments….

    ~Dennis Junior~

  3. 3 nicole
    April 13, 2009 at 18:19

    Poverty can make people do drastic things. Most Americans do not understand the problems facing Somalia. Providing infrastructure and development will help deter Somalians from piracy.
    Nicole

  4. 4 KEITH
    April 13, 2009 at 18:43

    How can violence be justified as worthy. None of these civilians were hostile towards Somalia. If i had a gun put to my head I would have been very grateful to the US Navy regardless of my citizenship. They are not heroes just criminals

  5. April 13, 2009 at 18:47

    I can’t believe what I’m hearing! You kidnap someone and there is a DEBATE about the morality of the consequences. Too politically correct for me

  6. 6 archibald in Oregon
    April 13, 2009 at 19:48

    @ lawrence wall

    A debate about the morality yes, but, the consequences (ie. death by sniper), seem to be quite clear. I am sure that all parties involved were and are aware of the continued consequence of their moral interpretations…….

  7. 8 Savane
    April 14, 2009 at 16:56

    Guilty as charged!

    The topic “Of course Africans want to leave Africa” touched a raw nerve and I admit I got Verbohorrea!

  8. 9 Dennis Junior
    April 14, 2009 at 17:30

    I have a question: What is the policy regarding trying to answer multiple questions in the thread started by the BBC WHYS?

    ~Dennis

  9. 10 Vijay
    April 14, 2009 at 19:02

    One thing that annoys me about the moderation is that at times it is so petty,for instance I had a bad experience at the hands of one of your employees favourite football teams racist fans and mentioned it when you broadcast from the ground,my comment didn’t appear till the show was over.
    On April 2nd at 1453 my comment about regulating finance which included a line about censoring the media if they connived with traders to manipulate the market was itself censored ,haha funny.

    Have any of the people who make the programme listened to the radio on shortwave ,they seem to get awfully anxious because of a crackling phone line and curtail the conversation needlessly.


Leave a Reply

