20
Feb
09

Talking Points in brief…

_45495567_006904589-1Ok, Shaimaa’s been working hard on the “abstinence” debate and we should give it an airing today…..but…..

*Polygamy.. “cultural sensitivity” prevents politicians from discussing the issue here..

* The Obama cartoon ; now the NY Post says sorry..

* Atheism under attack ? new student groups form to stand up for the non-believers…

* and baby meerkats in Sydney Zoo …..any of these worth talking about ?


3 Responses to “Talking Points in brief…”


  1. 1 justin
    February 20, 2009 at 12:38

    Good for the atheists students! As a recent graduate, and an atheist, I was bombarded by Christians….so I think its great that they sticking up for themselves.

  2. 2 Donnamarie in Switzerland
    February 20, 2009 at 15:09

    I am not British, I am Swiss/American, but I come from the same cultural orientation. I think the immigrant population in Britain has not thought the issue of multiple marriages through. In a country that has equal rights, if one adult can engage in multiple marriages, ALL adults can do so: men could take multiple wives, and wives could take multiple husbands.

    This would be a major cultural shift, one that I’m sure the great majority of Brits would disagree with, as would my countrymen both here in Switzerland and in the USA.

    I come from American immigrant stock myself. I know it is incumbent upon the immigrant community to adapt itself to the cultural mores of their host country, not the other way round. If immigrants to Britain cannot adapt themselves to life in Britain, they should emigrate elsewhere.

    Please note that I do not mention the issue of religion, only of cultural (and legal) traditions in a host country. As for me, should Britain change its laws to accommodate multiple marriages, perhaps after my divorce is final, I’ll immigrate to Britain myself and see if I can set up (legally sanctioned) housekeeping with a few young bucks….

  3. 3 John In Germany
    February 20, 2009 at 15:34

    Sometimes i have the feeling the whole world is going potty.

    A man with many wife’s, earns one wage- has many children, and has to feed and house many mouths, who will at some time need medical attention, and work. Who will pay for this?. The tax payer, stop he is already overloaded with the Banks. So it will become a rich mans privilege, or a heavy burden on the medical and social system of the country.

    The problem is that normal thinking these days can easily be interpreted as being radical right wing. So one has to be careful even when talking common sense. So this middle left wing old man will close now.

    God bless us all.
    John in Germany


Leave a Reply

